Altitude training

August 12, 2018

As my last marathon is coming up in Jackson Wyoming, I have felt the need to incorporate a little altitude training into my plan.  Jackson is at elevation 6200, and they say the air is thinner up there.  When I ran the Denver Marathon, elevation 5280, I did a little altitude training, as my only altitude running was a 6 mile run up at Snoqualmie Pass, elevation 3200.  I guess that seemed to work, as I finished Denver with not a lot of difference in how I felt or my time.  So.  For Jackson, being a little higher, I planned to go up to Snoqualmie again, and hopefully I will get up to Mt Rainier for some time before Jackson.

My run up at Snoqualmie went great!  It was a perfect day, and I was able to mix in some trail running with some road running for a total of 7 miles at a pretty good pace.  Extra hydration and some nice music made it very enjoyable.

 

Leave a comment